This Is A Story About Control…

Working out to some old school Janet Jackson this morning when her song, “Control”, started erupting through my ear buds.  I’m still a huge Janet fan, but this song in particular always gets me motivated.  What I love about this song is that it is a Declaration!  

 

“This is a story about Control.  My Control.  Control of what I say.  Control of what I do.

And this time I’m gonna do it my way.”

 

She knew what she wanted to do, how she wanted to live, how she wanted to be treated, and she declared it in this song.  Nobody was going to tell her what to do or how to live.  She controlled her career, her personal life, and her joys.  She didn’t rely on anyone else to make her happy.  Nor did she work her ass off to make someone else’s dreams come true.  She knew what it was going to take to achieve her goals.  She declared it.  And she went after her dreams!

I believe it is important to declare our dreams, our goals.  Write them down.  Make your ideas and thoughts tangible so you can see them on daily basis.  Declare who you are, how you want to live, what you want to do, and what you’re willing to do to achieve your goals.  You must be clear and specific.  You must work at it everyday.  And never take your eyes off your prize for you may find yourself working you ass off for someone else.  

This song, “Control”, motivates me to stay focused on my goals.  This song encourages me to live my dream life.

What is your declaration?  What are your goals?  What are your dreams?  Are you living your dreams?  I want to know.  I hope I’ve encouraged you to go after your dreams!  Please feel free to tell what you’re doing to accomplish your plans.  I’d love to hear from you.  

Leave a Reply

